I received this inspirational email and wanted to share it with you all as a beacon of #Hope and recognition for the silent stories and voices that matter dearly to me:

Dear Hecho en Los Angeles,

I remembered I could read today! This is going to sound a little weird and probably a little strange that I’m writing you as a stranger and out of the blue, but I have memory problems and I felt like you could understand what I’m saying. I’ve been so glad to read what you write and to see that you say what needs to be said for so many different people and so many different reasons that I wanted to share with you.

This week has been overwhelming for me. I felt like there’s so much going on and so much to protest and so many people out there, but you say what needs to be said and do what needs to be done, and other people are out there fighting the fight that I can’t always get out there and fight, so I appreciate that. I don’t want to share too much about my disability but I have an invisible disability that means that I look “normal” but my brain struggles a lot. To my surprise today when I was feeling kind of overwhelmed with the news and fb and didn’t want to listen anymore, I picked up a magazine, and I started to read.

There was a three year period when I couldn’t read at all or use a computer or drive or anything really. It didn’t matter how hard I tried, my eyes and brain would fight with each other and I would end up in a ball crying because my brain was exploding in my head and I was getting a migraine of epic proportions. Sometimes if I was in the car I’d have to make the driver pull over so I could throw up from the migraine after like 15 minutes it was that bad. Since I also have memory problems I forget things all the time, like that I can read again, so when I start to read it’s like riding a bike: I start slow…the words kind of take me a while to put together and spell out… but then they kind of start to come together into sentences…then into paragraphs…then I get mental images…and suddenly I’m in an entirely different world! There’s colors, and pictures, and imagination. There’s humor and lightness I don’t know, you know something you can’t just make happen on your own.

I’ve picked up books that I’ve read before, even things I’ve read multiple times, and let me tell you, it’s like reading them for the first time and being a kid again. I look at my notes and it’s like foreign language because my handwriting doesn’t even look the same and I have no idea what it means. I don’t know if you remember the first time you were able to read, I didn’t, but when I finally worked and worked and could make out letters again and after hours and hours of daily eye exercises that made me nauseous actually made the images become clear, I didn’t even know then that I would make it this far.

So, reading what you write kind of is special too because it’s not like you have to say these things it’s not like you’re even going to read this either or maybe you will but I think you will. And, can you imagine that it took me four years to be able to use a computer again and here I am writing you this email?

Inspiration is everywhere.

Screen Shot 2017-01-11 at 2.42.27 PM.png

 

@EndInvisibility #PracticalActivism #PoliticalActivism #DisabilityRights #DisabilityActivism #DonaldTrump #NotMyPresident #InjusticeBoycott #ProtestTrump #DonaldTrumpTransition #MikePence #UnitedAgainstHate #BetsyDevos #StopBetsyDevos #StopRexTillerson #Tillerson #RexTillerson #StopSteveBannon #SteveBannon #Bannon #StopRichardSpencer #RichardSpencer #ScottPruitt #StopScottPruitt #Antisemitic #AntiTrumpRallyLA #Protest #Liberal @HechoLosAngeles #AntiTrump #StillWithher #TrumpProtest #ImStillwithher #LoveTrumpsHate #NotMyPresident #AntiTrumpRally #Hillary #Bernie #Election2016 #PresidentialElection #USA #UnitedWeStandDividedWeFall #Obama #Clinton #PopularVote #Popular #ElectoralCollege #Liberals #WakeupAmerica #UnitedAgainstHate #RejectTrump #RejectThePresidentElect #NoTrump #TrumpPresident #LosAngeles #LAPD  #SafetyPinArmy #PantsSuitNation  @CBSLA @LATimes @LA_MAG @DeborahNetburn #ABC7Eyewitness @ABC7News @NBCLA @MSNBC @CNN @LATVives @ShaunKing @KTLA @LATimesCitybeat @TheDJTR @senschumer @naomiaklein @democracynow @themightybednar @AndrewKozak1 @NBCNews

